Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Aug. 14, 2022
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

Minutes for SB396 - Committee on Assessment and Taxation

Short Title

Discontinuing apportionment of countywide retailers' sales tax imposed for general purposes between the county and cities located therein.

Minutes Content for Thu, Mar 12, 2020

Chairperson Tyson opened the hearing on SB396.

Amelia Kovar-Donohue, Assistant Revisor, gave an overview of the bill. (Attachment 5)

Proponent oral testimony presented by:

Jay Armstrong, Atchison Farm Bureau (Attachment 6)

Proponent written testimony submitted by:

Dwight Meyer, Kansas Soybean Association and Kansas Association of Wheat Growers (Attachment 7)

Opponent oral testimony presented by:

Trey Cocking, League of Kansas Municipalities (Attachment 8)

Jay Hall, Kansas Association of Counties (Attachment 9)

Doug Gerber, City of Topeka (Attachment 10)

Michael Stec, Unincorporated Atchison County (Attachment 11)

Allen Dinkel, Junction City (Attachment 12)

Becky Berger, City of Atchison (Attachment 13)

Opponent written testimony presented by:

Mark Tomb, Kansas Association of Realtors (Attachment 14)

Anthony Swartzendruber, Harvey County (Attachment 15)

City of Olathe (Attachment 16)

City of Overland Park (Attachment 17)

Caitlin Gard, City of Shawnee (Attachment 18)

Usha Reddi, City of Manhattan (Attachment19)

Stuart Little, NE Johnson County, Merriam, Mission, Prairie Village and Westwood Hills (Attachment 20)

Troy Unruh, Garden City (Attachment 21)

Ernesto De La Rosa, Dodge City (Attachment 22)

Cherise Tieben, Matt Allen and Calvin Burke, Southwest Kansas Coalition (Attachment 23)

John Smith, KLPG (Attachment 24)

Kevin Walker, Overland Park Chamber (Attachment 25)

Jim Benage, City of Bel Aire (Attachment 26)

Dale Thompson, City of Cherokee (Attachment 27)

Randy Rundle, City of Clay Center (Attachment 28)

Amy Lange, City of Concordia (Attachment 29)

Beth Linn, City of Edgerton (Attachment 30)

Michael Webb, City of Edwardsville (Attachment 31)

Nathan Nogelmeier, City of Fairway (Attachment 32)

Trey Cocking, City of Glen Elder (Attachment 33)

Kendal Francis, City of Great Bend (Attachment 34)

Stacy Barnes, City of Greensburg (Attachment 35)

Ethan Reimer, City of Halstead (Attachment36)

William Collins, City of Hiawatha (Attachment 37)

Larry Paine, City of Hillsboro  (Attachment 38)

Kevin McKee, City of Holton (Attachment 39)

Cole Herder, City of Humboldt (Attachment 40)

John Deardoff, City of Hutchinson (Attachment 41)

Dayle Jeanne Lorenson, City of Johnson City (Attachment 42)

Craig Owens, City of Lawrence (Attachment 43)

Paul Kramer, City of Leavenworth (Attachment 44)

Connie Seigrist Calvin Burke, Christopher Ford and Alicia Hidalgo, City of Liberal (Attachment 45)

Gregory DuMars, City of Lindborg (Attachment 46)

Donna Clasen, City of Maize (Attachment 47)

Thomas Brown, City of McPherson (Attachment 48)

Courtney Christensen, City of Mission Hills (Attachment 49)

Randy Frazer, City of Moundridge (Attachment 50)

Blake Jorgensen, City of Ottawa (Attachment 51)

Daron Hall, City of Pittsburg (Attachment 52)

Jon Quinday, City of Russell (Attachment 53)

Gary Cline, City of Scandia (Attachment 54)

Lou Cicirello, City of Valley Center (Attachment 55)

Joseph Hackney, City of Valley Falls (Attachment 56)

Barbara Whipple, City of Wichita (Attachment 57)

There was no neutral testimony.

When all questions from the committee were answered, Chairperson Tyson closed the hearing on SB396.