2020 Kansas Statutes

- 12-3914. Same; governing body of consolidated districts, appointment of. (a) Except as provided by subsection (b), upon the consolidation of any such areas the board of county commissioners shall appoint a governing body composed of at least three and not more than seven members who shall represent as nearly as possible, the geographical areas in the consolidated area. In the event that the areas consolidated were, prior to consolidation, governed by more than one political or taxing subdivision as defined in K.S.A. 12-3902, and amendments thereto, then the number of members on the governing board from each subdivision shall be determined on the basis of population, but each subdivision represented shall have at least one appointment to the board. In the alternative, the members of the governing board may be selected by agreement among all the subdivision whose areas are consolidated. Unless otherwise agreed by the political or taxing subdivisions consolidating, the members of the governing board shall be appointed as follows: Two members for a term of one year: two members for a term of two years; and three members for a term of three years. Thereafter, all members shall be appointed for a term of three years. All vacancies on the governing board shall be filled by appointment for the remainder of the unexpired term. Within 30 days after the governing body is appointed and annually thereafter, the governing body shall meet and organize by election from its membership a chairperson, vice-chairperson and treasurer. The treasurer shall give a corporate surety bond, conditioned for the faithful performance of duty and accounting for all moneys received thereby. Such bond shall be approved and be in the amount fixed by the governing body. The treasurer also shall serve as secretary to the board. (b) The board or boards of county commissioners may serve as the governing body of any consolidated fire district formed by the joinder of two or more county fire districts or may place the supervision of said consolidated fire district under a fire district board of trustees. The board or boards of county commissioners may appoint a board of not less than three members and not more than nine members, composed of persons other than members of the board or boards of county commissioners, who shall serve at the pleasure of the board or boards of county commissioners. The fire district board of trustees, if appointed, may employ a supervisor and such other persons as may be necessary to properly operate and manage such consolidated fire
- (c) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraphs (a) and (b) above, any consolidation of the De Soto, Kansas fire department with Johnson county fire district no. 3 shall have a governing body of five members appointed as follows: Two members appointed by the governing body of the city of De Soto; two members appointed by the board of county commissioners of Johnson county; one member appointed alternately by the city of De Soto and by the board of county commissioners of Johnson county, provided that the initial appointment of said fifth member shall be made by the board of county commissioners of Johnson county. No more than two governing body members shall be elected or appointed officials of the city of De Soto, Kansas and no more than two governing body members may be elected or appointed officials of the current fire district no. 3 or of Johnson county government.
- (d) Governing body members appointed under the procedure set out in subsection (c) above shall serve three year terms, with the initial terms staggered as follows: One member appointed by the city of De Soto, Kansas shall serve an initial term of one year and the other city appointment shall serve an initial term of two years; one member appointed by the board of county commissioners shall serve an initial term of one year and the other county appointment shall serve an initial term of two years; the fifth member shall serve an initial term of three years.

History: L. 1996, ch. 226, § 5; L. 2008, ch. 163, § 18; July 1.

district.