2020 Kansas Statutes

18-111. Cherokee. The county of Cherokee is bounded as follows: Commencing at the southeast corner of the county of Crawford; thence west with the south line of said Crawford county, to the southwest corner of section fourteen, in township thirty-one south, of range twenty-one, east of the sixth principal meridian; thence south on the section line, to the Neosho river; thence with the channel of said river, to the south boundary line of the state of Kansas; thence east on said boundary line, to the southeast corner of the state; thence north with the east line of the state of Kansas, to the place of beginning: Provided, That at the next general election, the legal voters on the strip between the west line of Cherokee county as above defined, and the west line of Cherokee neutral land, shall decide by ballot for or against being attached to Cherokee county; and the ballot so cast shall be returned and canvassed as other election returns, and the result certified to the governor, who shall issue his proclamation in accordance therewith. If a majority of the votes cast shall be in favor of being attached to Cherokee county, the west line of said county shall remain as above defined; but if a majority be against being attached to Cherokee county, then the line between said Cherokee county and the county of Labette shall be the west line of the Cherokee neutral lands — anything in this act to the contrary notwithstanding.

History: G.S. 1868, ch. 24, § 12; Oct. 31; R.S. 1923, 18-111.