## **2020 Kansas Statutes**

**74-50,222.** Rural opportunity zones; definitions. As used in K.S.A. 74-50,222, 74-50,223 and 79-32,267, and amendments thereto:

(a) "Institution of higher education" means a public or private nonprofit educational institution that meets the requirements of participation in programs under the higher education act of 1965, as amended, 34 C.F.R. § 600;

(b) "rural opportunity zone" means Allen, Anderson, Barber, Bourbon, Brown, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Decatur, Doniphan, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Haskell, Hodgeman, Jackson, Jewell, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Meade, Mitchell, Montgomery, Morris, Morton, Nemaha, Neosho, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Republic, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Scott, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Trego, Thomas, Wabaunsee, Wallace, Washington, Wichita, Wilson or Woodson counties;

(c) "secretary" means the secretary of commerce; and

(d) "student loan" means a federal student loan program supported by the federal government and a nonfederal loan issued by a lender such as a bank, savings and loan or credit union to help students and parents pay school expenses for attendance at an institution of higher education.

History: L. 2011, ch. 22, § 1; L. 2013, ch. 135, § 9; L. 2014, ch. 140, § 19; July 1.