

2021 - 2022 Executive board

Tina Spencer, Marion County President Ashley Mannis, Sherman County Vice President Janet Paddock, Franklin County Secretary Rick Piepho, Harvey County Treasurer

Re: February 16, 2022 hearing on Senate Bill 391, relating to ballots, years of incumbency – Neutral testimony, ORAL IN-PERSON by Rick Piepho, representing KCCEOA.

Honorable Kansas State Senator Rob Olson Chair, Senate, Committee on Federal and State Affairs and Distinguished Members of the Committee

My name is Rick Piepho, Harvey County Clerk and Chairman of the Elections Committee of the Kansas County Clerks and Election Officials Association (KCCEOA). The KCCEOA is a statewide organization with 109 members including publicly elected county clerks, charter appointed county clerks, and additionally, four election officers from the most populous counties in Kansas. Our duties are significant under statute and one of our most public facing functions is free and fair administration of elections. We take this duty very seriously. We prepare for every possible, and impossible, scenario which could occur. Our organization has a legislative platform adopted by the membership.

I am submitting this testimony on behalf of the KCCEOA membership. We believe that the legislature sets the policy and we implement it. You pass the laws, the Secretary of State works with you to develop and adopt rules, and we follow the law and regulations in an attempt to allow the public to participate in free and fair elections while complying with your intent and the Secretary's guidance. We understand and agree with the intent to build on the already secure election processes in Kansas and increasing voter confidence. For these reasons, we are appearing as neutral conferees today.

We believe that the years in office for incumbent candidates could be added to ballots, but it would be difficult given the limited amount of space on ballots (see exhibit 1 below). We also believe that there may be issues obtaining the additional information and/or maintaining a database of all officeholders with date initially elected or appointed and years in the position. The candidate filing forms could be modified to obtain the information from the candidate, but some long-standing office holders may not remember when they were first elected and would ask us to provide them the information.

The KCCEOA is neutral on SB 391 as currently presented, but we ask that the committee consider our comments and act accordingly. I will gladly stand for questions at the appropriate time.

Sincerely.

Rick Piepho, Harvey County Clerk & Election Officer - KCCEOA Elections Committee Chair

Exhibit 1, US Senate Race, 2020 General, Harvey County ballot:

Ris Prepa

Jason Buckley Overland Park Roger Libertarian Marshall Great Bend Barbara Republican Bollier Mission Hills Democratic	UNITED STATES SENATOR Vote for One SIX Year Term			
or Write in	0 0 0 0	Buckley Roger Libertz Marshall Barbara Repub Bollier Demod	arian Great Bend Iican Mission Hills	