Designating Certain Memorial Highways and Memorial Bridges; HB 2247

HB 2247 designates portions of highway in Johnson, Marshall, and Norton counties as memorial highways and designates certain bridges in Cowley, Riley, and Seward counties as memorial bridges.

The bill designates the portion of K-67 in Norton County from the southern limits of the Norton Correctional Facility to the northern limits of the Norton Correctional Facility as the COII Trenton J. Brinkman Memorial Highway. According to testimony, Officer Brinkman was a correctional officer at the Norton Correctional Facility who was killed in a vehicle accident on his way to work, and was respected both in the community and by inmates of the correctional facility.

The bill designates bridge no. 54-88-17.86 (013) located on US-54 in Seward County as the Jack Taylor Memorial Bridge, and bridge no. 54-88-17.1.87 (006) located on US-54 in Seward County as the Max Zimmerman Memorial Bridge. According to testimony, Mr. Taylor and Mr. Zimmerman were actively involved in their community and instrumental to key transportation initiatives in southwest Kansas.

The bill designates bridge no. 0081-B0058 located on US-77 in Riley County as the PFC Loren H. Larson Memorial Bridge. According to testimony, PFC Larson was a graduate of Blue Valley High School in Randolph, served in the 1st Cavalry Division of the U.S. Army, and was killed in action in the Vietnam War.

The bill designates bridge no. 0018-009 located on US-166 in Cowley County as the SGT Tyler A. Juden Memorial Bridge. According to testimony, SGT Juden was a decorated U.S. Army paratrooper, infantryman, and sniper killed in action in Afghanistan during his second tour of duty.

The bill designates a portion of US-69 in Johnson County, from I-435 to 135th Street, as the Senator Dennis Wilson Memorial Highway. According to testimony, Senator Wilson's public service included military service and election to the Kansas House of Representatives and the Kansas Senate and being director of the Office of Unclaimed Properties/Director of Administration/Director of Government Affairs in the Office of the State Treasurer, Johnson County Treasurer, Executive Director of the Kansas Lottery, and a member of the WaterOne board of directors.

The bill designates a portion of K-7 in Johnson County, between K-10 and West Santa Fe Street, as the Senator Bud Burke Memorial Highway. According to testimony, Senator Burke's public service included involvement in the military and the University of Kansas and election to the Kansas House of Representatives and the Kansas Senate. He served as President of the Senate from 1989 to 1997.

The bill designates a portion of US-77 from the western city limits of Blue Rapids to the eastern city limits of Waterville, in Marshall County, as the CPL Allen E. Oatney and SP4 Gene A. Myers Memorial Highway. The designation of Prairie Parkway is removed from this portion of US-77. According to testimony, CPL Oatney graduated from Valley Heights High School in 1969 and died in 1970 in Cambodia. SP4 Myers graduated from Waterville High School in 1966 and died in Vietnam in 1969.

The Secretary of Transportation is required to place suitable signs to indicate the designations. Under continuing law, the Secretary is precluded from placing these signs until the Secretary has received sufficient moneys from gifts and donations to reimburse the Secretary for the cost of placing such signs, plus an additional 50 percent of the initial cost to defray future maintenance or replacement of the signs. The Secretary may accept and administer gifts and donations to aid in obtaining and installing suitable signs.