

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203

www.ksde.org

Danny Zeck District 1

Dr. Deena Horst

District 6

ck Mel I D

Melanie Haas District 2

Dennis Hershberger

District 7

Michelle Dombrosky District 3 Betty J. Arnold District 8

District 5

Ann E. Mah

District 4

Jim Porter

District 9

Jim McNiece District 10

Cathy Hopkins

Written Only Neutral Testimony

HB 2081 - AN ACT establishing the aspiring future teacher of the year scholarship program; making and concerning appropriations for the fiscal years ending June 30, 2024, June 30, 2025, June 30, 2026, June 30, 2027, and June 30, 2028, for the department of education for such scholarships.

Presented to the House Committee on Education Wednesday, February 15, 2023 By Dr. Deena Horst and Ann Mah, Legislative Liaisons Kansas State Board of Education

Chairman Thomas, Vice Chairwoman Estes, Ranking Minority Member Stogsdill and members of the House Committee on Education:

Thank you for allowing us to submit testimony regarding HB 2081, which establishes the aspiring future teacher of the year scholarship program through June 30, 2028.

The teacher shortage in Kansas is real. It exists across all grades and subjects and across all sizes of school districts, whether urban or rural. HB 2081 provides scholarships for aspiring teachers who have backgrounds similar to those of previous Kansas Teacher of the Year recipients.

While the goal is laudable, and we support all efforts to increase the number of students entering education majors in Kansas, we would prefer that expansion of scholarships for education majors be somehow included in the current scholarship program managed by the Kansas Board of Regents. This could avoid adding new FTE and would keep management of postsecondary scholarships under one organization.

We appreciate all efforts to attract new teachers through scholarship programs and thank the Committee for its efforts.