Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
May 27, 2024
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

Minutes for SB468 - Committee on Assessment and Taxation

Short Title

Prohibiting cities and counties that grant or approve certain property tax exemptions or tax increment financing from exceeding their revenue neutral rates for property tax purposes.

Minutes Content for Wed, Feb 14, 2024

Revisor Amelia Kovar-Donohue provided a summary of the bill. (Attachment 1).

Proponents in-person testimony: Representative Sean Tarwater (Attachment 2)

Michael Austin, Americans for Prosperity (Attachment 3)

Lanell Griffith (Attachment 4)

Proponent Webex testimony: Charlotte O'Hara (Attachment 5

Proponent written testimony: Dave Trabert, Kansas Policy Institute (Attachment 6)

Opponent in-person testimony: Juliet Abdel, Greater Topeka Chamber for METL (Attachment 7)

Tim Dannenberg, City of Olathe (Attachment 8)

Rhiannon Friedman, City of Topeka (Attachment 9)

Maddie Walbeck, City of Basehor (Attachment 10)

Spencer Duncan, League of Kansas Municipalities (Attachment 11)

Opponent written testimony:

Ron Alexander, City of Colby (Attachment 12)

Mathew Allen, City of Garden City (Attachment 13)

Troy Anderson, City of Wichita (Attachment 14)

Seth Brown, South Haven Fire Department (Attachment 15)

Myca Bunch, Garden City Chamber of Commerce (Attachment 16)

Jeff Cermin, Dodge City Community College (Attachment 17)

Steven Cottrell, Finney County Economic Development Corporation (Attachment 18)

Craig Crossette, City of Goddard (Attachment 19)

Stacy Davis, Sumner County (Attachment 20)

Jamie Doss, Kansas County Clerks and Election Officials (KCCEOA) (Attachment 21)

Katie Eisenhour, Scott County Development Committee (Attachment 22)

Ron Fehr, City of Manhattan (Attachment 23)

Sean Fox, City of Park City (Attachment 24)

Randy Frazer, City of Arkansas City (Attachment 25)

Nick Gregory, City of Maize (Attachment 26

Nickolaus Hernandez / Chuck Taylor, City of Dodge City (Attachment 27)

L. Travis Hicks, TriCentury Bank, De Soto (Attachment 28)

Jeannie Johnson, City of Olsburg (Attachment 29)

David Johnston, Wyandotte Unified Government (Attachment 30)

Dietrich Kastens, City of Atwood (Attachment 31

Michael Koss, City of Overland Park (Attachment 32)

Russ Kessler, City of Haysville (Attachment 33)

Rod Kreie / Daniela Rivas, City of Newton (Attachment 34)

Jake Letner, City of Columbus (Attachment 35)

Beth Linn, City of Edgerton (Attachment 36)

Little Government Relations: Merriam; Mission; Prairie Village; Roeland Park; Westwood Hills (Attachment 37)

Bonnie Lowe, Chamber of Lawrence (Attachment 38)

Karl Mangus, City of Derby (Attachment 39)

Lane Massey, City of Spring Hill (Attachment 40)

Jennifer McCausland, City of Andover (Attachment 41)

Matt Mildenberger, Mitten Inc., Oakley (Attachment 42)

Alley Porter, City of Lawrence (Attachment 43)

Matt Rehder, City of Iola (Attachment 44)

Mitch Robinson, Kansas Economic Development Alliance (KEDA) (Attachment 45)

Mickey Sandifer, City of Shawnee (Attachment 46)

Joshua Shaw, City of Augusta (Attachment 47)

Cathy Sheets, Weigand Realtors, Wellington (Attachment 48)

Beth Shelton, Harvey County Economic Development (Attachment 49)

Jason Smith, Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce (Attachment 50)

Leah Sommerhoff, City of Caldwell (Attachment 51)

Dustin Stambaugh, City of Ellsworth (Attachment 52)

Pam Stevens, Newton Area Chamber of Commerce (Attachment 53)

Rick Walker, City of De Soto (Attachment 54)

Steve Warner / Jim Newell / John Cooney, Sumner County Board of Commissioners (Attachment 55)

David Waters, City of Westwood (Attachment 56)

Wesley Young (Attachment 57)

Deb Scheibler (Attachment 58)

Neutral in-person testimony: None

Neutral written testimony: None

The hearing on SB468 was closed.

Meeting adjourned at 10:29AM