Kansas Legislature

SB 291

AN ACT concerning information technology; relating to transferring cybersecurity employees under the chief information technology officer of each branch; creating a chief information security officer within the judicial and legislative branches; requiring the attorney general, Kansas bureau of investigation, secretary of state, state treasurer and insurance commissioner to appoint chief information security officers; placing the duty of cybersecurity under the chief information technology officer; requiring state agencies to comply with certain minimum cybersecurity standards; exempting certain audit reports from the open records act and eliminating the five-year review of such exemption; requiring the information technology executive council to develop a plan to integrate all information technology services for the executive branch under the executive chief information technology officer; making and concerning appropriations for the fiscal years ending June 30, 2025, and June 30, 2026, for the office of information technology, Kansas information security office and the adjutant general; authorizing certain transfers and imposing certain limitations and restrictions and directing or authorizing certain disbursements and procedures for all state agencies; requiring legislative review of state agencies not in compliance with this act; amending K.S.A. 40-110, 75-413, 75-623, 75-710, 75-711 and 75-7203 and K.S.A. 2023 Supp. 45-229, 75-7201, 75-7202, 75-7205, 75-7206, 75-7208, 75-7209, 75-7237, 75-7238, 75-7239 and 75-7240 and repealing the existing sections.

House - Final Action - Substitute passed as amended; - 03/26/2024

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (118):

Amyx, Anderson, Awerkamp, Ballard, Barth, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blew, Blex, Bloom, Borjon, Bryce, Buehler, Butler, Carmichael, B. Carpenter, W. Carpenter, Carr, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, Droge, Ellis, Eplee, Essex, Estes, Featherston, Francis, Garber, Gardner, Goddard, Goetz, Haskins, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Highberger, Hill, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Hougland, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Humphries, Johnson, Kessler, Landwehr, Lewis, Martinez, Mason, Maughan, McDonald, McNorton, Melton, Meyer, D. Miller, S. Miller, V. Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Ohaebosim, Oropeza, Osman, Ousley, Owens, Penn, Pickert, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Rahjes, Resman, Rhiley, Robinson, Roth, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Sanders, Sawyer, Sawyer Clayton, Schlingensiepen, Schmoe, Schreiber, Seiwert, A. Smith, C. Smith, E. Smith, Stiens, Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Titus, Turk, Turner, Underhill, Vaughn, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, White, K. Williams, Winn, Woodard, Xu, Younger,

Nay - (5):

Alcala, Carlin, Fairchild, Jacobs, Poetter Parshall,

Present but not Voting - (0):

Absent and Not Voting - (2):

Houser, L. Williams,

Not Voting - (0):