Kansas Legislature

SB 387

AN ACT concerning education; making and concerning appropriations for the fiscal years ending June 30, 2024, June 30, 2025, and June 30, 2026, for the state department of education; establishing the education funding task force and requiring such task force to review and make recommendations regarding the state's school finance system prior to the expiration of the Kansas school equity and enhancement act; abolishing the special education and related services funding task force; revising the special education state aid statewide excess costs calculation to count additional funding; requiring the state board of education to determine excess costs for each school district; requiring the state board of education to establish a special education state aid equalization distribution method and to distribute certain amounts of special education state aid pursuant to such method; requiring each school district to transfer the amount attributable to the special education and related services weighting from the supplemental general fund to the school district's special education fund; requiring each school district to submit annually to the state board of education an at-risk student accountability plan and to measure and show academic improvement in certain student cohort groups; holding school districts accountable to meeting the student cohort group improvement goals; revising requirements relating to school district at-risk education fund expenditure; prohibiting the state board of education from substantially revising curriculum standards in English language arts and mathematics until 75% of all students achieve a certain academic proficiency level; requiring school districts to give enrollment priority to students who reside in Kansas over students who do not reside in the state except under certain circumstances; authorizing certain nonresident students to continue enrollment in a school district of nonresidence; authorizing a school district to deem nonresident students as not in good standing prior to enrollment and an appeal process for students who are denied enrollment pursuant to such action; requiring school district student transfer policy revisions to be published on the school district's website; exempting virtual schools from open enrollment requirements; limiting the legislative option to purchase school district buildings and authorizing the legislative coordinating council to deny the legislative option when the legislature is not in session; prohibiting school districts from refusing to convey a building or property solely because the buyer or lessee may use or intends to use the building or property for nonpublic school purposes; establishing requirements for the determination of virtual school state aid for certain students who are funded on a per credit hour basis; requiring virtual school state aid be determined using full-time equivalent enrollment; authorizing students enrolled in a virtual school to participate in activities regulated by the Kansas state high school activities association; amending K.S.A. 72-3422 and 72-5143 and K.S.A. 2023 Supp. 72-1439, 72-3123, 72-3124, 72-3126, 72-3127, 72-3216, 72-3715, 72-5153, 72-5170, 72-5193 and 72-7121 and repealing the existing sections; also repealing K.S.A. 2023 Supp. 72-3442.

House - Committee of the Whole - Amendment by Representative Ousley was rejected - 03/26/2024

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (43):

Alcala, Amyx, Ballard, Borjon, Carlin, Carmichael, Carr, Curtis, Featherston, Haskins, Haswood, Helgerson, Highberger, Hoheisel, Hougland, Hoye, Martinez, McDonald, Melton, Meyer, D. Miller, S. Miller, V. Miller, Neighbor, Ohaebosim, Oropeza, Osman, Ousley, Penn, Poskin, Probst, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Sawyer, Sawyer Clayton, Schlingensiepen, Stogsdill, Vaughn, Weigel, Winn, Woodard, Xu, Younger,

Nay - (74):

Anderson, Awerkamp, Barth, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blew, Blex, Bloom, Bryce, Butler, B. Carpenter, W. Carpenter, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Delperdang, Dodson, Ellis, Eplee, Essex, Estes, Fairchild, Francis, Garber, Gardner, Goddard, Goetz, Hawkins, Hill, Hoffman, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Humphries, Johnson, Kessler, Landwehr, Lewis, Mason, Maughan, McNorton, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Owens, Pickert, Poetter Parshall, Proctor, Resman, Rhiley, Roth, Sanders, Schmoe, Seiwert, A. Smith, C. Smith, E. Smith, Stiens, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Titus, Turk, Turner, Underhill, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, White, K. Williams,

Present but not Voting - (0):

Absent and Not Voting - (8):

Buehler, Droge, Houser, Jacobs, Rahjes, Robinson, Schreiber, L. Williams,

Not Voting - (0):