Kansas Legislature

HB 2119

AN ACT concerning education; relating to the instruction and financing thereof; making and concerning appropriations for the department of education for fiscal years ending June 30, 2021, June 30, 2022, and June 30, 2023; creating the student empowerment act to provide education savings accounts to certain students; requiring the school term to be conducted through in-person education and allowing for limited remote learning; requiring boards of education to allocate sufficient school district moneys to improve academic performance of underachieving students; providing an alternative state aid calculation for school district remote enrollment; authorizing continuation of the 20 mill statewide property tax levy for schools and the exemption of a portion of residential property from such levy; expanding student eligibility under the tax credit for low income students scholarship program; amending K.S.A. 72-1163, 72-3115, 72-5134, 72-5151, 79-201x and 79-32,117 and K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 72-3117, 72-4352, 72-4354, 72-5131, 72-5132, 72-5142 and 72-5178 and repealing the existing sections.

House - Emergency Final Action - Substitute passed as amended; - 03/30/2021

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (65):

Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Burris, B. Carpenter, W. Carpenter, Collins, Corbet, Delperdang, Dodson, Donohoe, Esau, Estes, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Hawkins, Helmer, Highland, Hoffman, Houser, Howe, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee, Lynn, Mason, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Newland, Owens, Penn, Poetter Parshall, Proctor, Rahjes, Resman, Rhiley, Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Seiwert, A. Smith, C. Smith, E. Smith, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Toplikar, Turner, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Williams,

Nay - (58):

Alcala, Amyx, Baker, Ballard, Bishop, Borjon, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, Clark, Clayton, Coleman, Concannon, Curtis, Day, Ellis, Eplee, Featherston, Finney, Gartner, Haswood, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Hoheisel, Hoye, Jennings, Kelly, Kuether, Long, Miller, Minnix, Neighbor, Ohaebosim, Orr, Ousley, Parker, Patton, Poskin, Probst, Proehl, Ralph, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Sawyer, Schreiber, Stogsdill, Thompson, Vaughn, Victors, Weigel, Wheeler, Winn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu,

Present but not Voting - (0):

Absent and Not Voting - (2):

Croft, Howard,

Not Voting - (0):