Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
May 22, 2024
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

HB 2104

AN ACT concerning property taxation; relating to school district levies, authorizing continuation of the statewide levy for schools and the exemption of a portion of residential property from such levy, extending the due date for budget to state board of education when revenue neutral rate hearing is required; extending certain due dates relating to notice and hearing requirements to exceed the revenue neutral rate for purposes of property tax; relating to the state board of tax appeals, orders and notices, service by electronic means, time to request full and complete opinion, judicial review, burden of proof in district court, appointments, extending the time a board member may continue to serve after member’s term expires, authorizing appoint by the governor of a member pro tempore under certain conditions; relating to appeals, prohibiting valuation increases in certain appeals; relating to county appraisers, eligibility list, notification when person no longer holds office; appraisal standards; amending K.S.A. 72-5137, 74-2426, 74-2433, 74-2433f, 79-201x, 79-505, 79-1448, 79-1609, 79-1801, as amended by section 3 of 2021 Senate Bill No. 13, and 79-2005 and K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 19-432 and 72-5142 and section 1 of 2021 Senate Bill No. 13 and repealing the existing sections.

(printable version)

House - Conference Committee Report was adopted; - 04/06/2021

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (77):

Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Carlson, B. Carpenter, W. Carpenter, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Delperdang, Dodson, Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Estes, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Helmer, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, Jennings, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee, Long, Lynn, Mason, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Newland, Orr, Owens, Patton, Penn, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ryckman, Sanders, Schreiber, Seiwert, A. Smith, C. Smith, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Toplikar, Turner, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Wheeler, Williams,

Nay - (42):

Alcala, Amyx, Baker, Ballard, Bishop, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carmichael, Clark, Clayton, Coleman, Curtis, Day, Featherston, Finney, Gartner, Haswood, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Hoye, Kuether, Miller, Minnix, Neighbor, Ohaebosim, Ousley, Parker, Poskin, Probst, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Sawyer, Stogsdill, Vaughn, Victors, Weigel, Winn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu,

Present but not Voting - (0):

Absent and Not Voting - (6):

Hawkins, Howard, Poetter Parshall, Samsel, E. Smith, Thompson,

Not Voting - (0):