Kansas Legislature

HB 2703

AN ACT concerning employment security law; relating to the employment security fund; employer contribution rates; revising the definition of employment for conformity with federal law; making changes to the my reemployment plan program including making the program mandatory; providing that the secretary of labor is to request that claimants create resumes in the Kansasworks system and that the secretary of commerce shall provide assistance to claimants through Kansasworks and may require claimants to participate in reemployment services; providing claimants with additional time to respond; providing the educational institution providing work skills training shall monitor compliance and report to the secretary of commerce and secretary of labor; amending K.S.A. 44-703, 44-710a and 44-775 and repealing the existing sections.

House - Committee of the Whole - Amendment by Representative Clayton was rejected - 02/22/2022

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (37):

Alcala, Amyx, Ballard, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carmichael, Clayton, Coleman, Curtis, Gartner, Haswood, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Hoye, Kuether, Meyer, Miller, Neighbor, Ohaebosim, Osman, Ousley, Poskin, Probst, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Sawyer, Schmidt, Stogsdill, Toplikar, Vaughn, Victors, Weigel, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu,

Nay - (80):

Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Borjon, Burris, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Delperdang, Dodson, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Estes, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Hawkins, Helmer, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee, Long, Lynn, Mason, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Newland, Orr, Owens, Patton, Penn, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Schreiber, Seiwert, A. Smith, C. Smith, E. Smith, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Turner, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Williams,

Present but not Voting - (0):

Absent and Not Voting - (8):

Blex, Donohoe, Featherston, Finney, Huebert, Poetter Parshall, Wheeler, Winn,

Not Voting - (0):