Kansas Legislature

SB 286

AN ACT concerning liability for certain actions; relating to the governmental response to the COVID-19 pandemic in Kansas; crimes, punishment and criminal procedure; crimes against the public peace; creating the crime of interference with the conduct of a hospital; increasing the criminal penalty for battery of a healthcare provider; extending the extending the expanded use of telemedicine and expiring such provisions; extending the suspension of certain requirements related to medical care facilities and expiring such provisions; modifying the COVID-19 response and reopening for business liability protection act; extending immunity from civil liability for certain healthcare providers, certain persons conducting business in this state and covered facilities for COVID-19 claims until January 20, 2023; amending K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5413, 48-963, 48-964, 60-5503, 60-5504, 60-5508 and 65-468 and repealing the existing sections.

House - Emergency Final Action - Substitute passed as amended; - 03/09/2022

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (102):

Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burroughs, Byers, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Delperdang, Dodson, Ellis, Eplee, Estes, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Helmer, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Minnix, Moser, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schmidt, Schreiber, Seiwert, A. Smith, C. Smith, E. Smith, Stogsdill, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu,

Nay - (17):

Awerkamp, Burris, Carmichael, Curtis, Esau, Garber, Henderson, Highberger, Houser, Jacobs, Lee, Miller, Murphy, Ohaebosim, Sutton, Victors, Winn,

Present but not Voting - (0):

Absent and Not Voting - (6):

Carlin, Coleman, Donohoe, Finney, Poetter Parshall, Rahjes,

Not Voting - (0):