Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
May 26, 2024
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

HB 2512

AN ACT concerning education; making and concerning appropriations for fiscal years ending June 30, 2022, June 30, 2023, and June 30, 2024, for the state department of education; establishing the legislature's intention to focus on academic achievement; enacting the every child can read act to support literacy proficiency by third grade; authorizing the state board of education and school districts to allow students to earn course credit through alternative educational opportunities outside the traditional classroom; making members of or persons employed by the Kansas state high school activities association mandatory reporters of child abuse and neglect; requiring the board of education of each school district to consider the district building needs assessment and state academic assessments when approving the budget of the school district; requiring school districts to allow for part-time enrollment of certain students; establishing an alternative method for calculating virtual school graduation rates; prohibiting virtual schools from offering or providing any financial incentives to entice a student to enroll; authorizing virtual school state aid for students who are credit deficient; amending the tax credit for low income students scholarship program to allow students who are seven years of age or under to participate in the program without the need for prior enrollment in a public school; requiring the state department of education to provide an annual written report on academic achievement outcomes; amending K.S.A. 38-2223, 72-3120, 72-3713 and 72-3715 and K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 72-1163, 72-4352, 72-5178 and 72-5462 and repealing the existing sections.

(printable version)

House - Committee of the Whole - Amendment by Representative Ousley was adopted - 03/22/2022

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (58):

Alcala, Amyx, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carmichael, Clayton, Clifford, Collins, Curtis, Dodson, Esau, Featherston, Gartner, Haswood, Helgerson, Helmer, Henderson, Highberger, Hoheisel, Howe, Hoye, Jacobs, Kuether, Lee, Long, Lynn, Meyer, Miller, Neighbor, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Poskin, Probst, Resman, Rhiley, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Samsel, Sawyer, Schmidt, Schreiber, A. Smith, Stogsdill, Toplikar, Vaughn, Victors, Weigel, Wheeler, Winn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu,

Nay - (54):

Anderson, Arnberger, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Corbet, Croft, Delperdang, Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Estes, Fairchild, Francis, French, Garber, Hawkins, Highland, Hoffman, Houser, Howell, Howerton, Huebert, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Mason, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Newland, Owens, Patton, Penn, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Ryckman, Sanders, Seiwert, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Turner, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Williams,

Present but not Voting - (0):

Absent and Not Voting - (13):

Awerkamp, Borjon, Burris, Coleman, Concannon, Finch, Finney, Humphries, S. Johnson, Landwehr, Poetter Parshall, C. Smith, E. Smith,

Not Voting - (0):