Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
May 28, 2024
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

SB 286

AN ACT concerning liability for certain actions; relating to the governmental response to the COVID-19 pandemic in Kansas; crimes, punishment and criminal procedure; crimes against the public peace; creating the crime of interference with the conduct of a hospital; increasing the criminal penalty for battery of a healthcare provider; extending the extending the expanded use of telemedicine and expiring such provisions; extending the suspension of certain requirements related to medical care facilities and expiring such provisions; modifying the COVID-19 response and reopening for business liability protection act; extending immunity from civil liability for certain healthcare providers, certain persons conducting business in this state and covered facilities for COVID-19 claims until January 20, 2023; amending K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5413, 48-963, 48-964, 60-5503, 60-5504, 60-5508 and 65-468 and repealing the existing sections.

(printable version)

House - Conference Committee Report was adopted; - 04/01/2022

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (64):

Anderson, Arnberger, Baker, Barker, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Croft, Delperdang, Dodson, Donohoe, Eplee, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, Hawkins, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Howell, Howerton, Huebert, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Long, Lynn, Mason, Minnix, Moser, Neelly, Newland, Orr, Owens, Penn, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Ryckman, Samsel, Schreiber, A. Smith, C. Smith, E. Smith, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Turner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Wheeler, Williams, Wolfe Moore,

Nay - (51):

Alcala, Amyx, Awerkamp, Ballard, Bergkamp, Burris, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carmichael, Clayton, Corbet, Curtis, Ellis, Esau, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Houser, Howe, Hoye, Humphries, Jacobs, Kuether, Lee, Meyer, Miller, Murphy, Neighbor, Ohaebosim, Osman, Ousley, Poskin, Proctor, Rhiley, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Sanders, Sawyer, Seiwert, Stogsdill, Toplikar, Vaughn, Waggoner, Weigel, Woodard, Xu,

Present but not Voting - (1):


Absent and Not Voting - (9):

Coleman, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Patton, Poetter Parshall, Schmidt, Victors, Winn,

Not Voting - (0):