Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
June 20, 2024
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

2023 Statute


12-5252. Exemption from certain requirements for cities in a county under a federal or state disaster declaration. (a) Any city that prior to July 1, 2013, is located, in whole or in part, within the boundaries of a county designated by the United States federal emergency management agency under major disaster declaration FEMA-1711-DR or FEMA-1699, as eligible to receive individual or public assistance from the United States federal government that desires to designate a reinvestment housing incentive district pursuant to this act or such county shall be exempt from the provisions of K.S.A. 12-5244(c), and amendments thereto, and may adopt a plan for a designated reinvestment housing incentive district without the approval of the secretary and without conducting a public hearing on such proposed plan.

(b) For any city in a county declared by the governor to be a state of disaster after January 1, 2008, or such county if the governor finds that such disaster resulted in the destruction of a significant amount of residential housing in such city or county the governor may designate such city or county to exercise the exemption authorized by subsection (a) for a period of five years from the date of the declaration of a state of disaster.

(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed so as to exempt a city or county from any other requirement set forth in this act, or to limit any of the rights, duties and privileges of a city or county under any other provisions of this act.

History: L. 2008, ch. 92, § 3; L. 2023, ch. 68, § 8; May 4, 2023.

2024. Powered by KLISS. Rendered: 2024-06-20T07:39:23. Head Rev No: 787344(I)