Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Aug. 20, 2019
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

2012 Statute



Prev Article 6. - CONSUMER PROTECTIONNext


50-6,112a. Scrap metal dealer registration; fees; penalties. (a) No business shall purchase any regulated scrap metal without having first registered each place of business as herein provided. In case such place of business is located within the corporate limits of a city, the registration shall be made to the governing body of such city. In all other cases, the registration shall be made to the board of county commissioners in the county in which such place of business is to be located.

(b) A board of county commissioners shall provide the clerk of the township with written notice of the filing of a registration by a scrap metal dealer within 10 days of registration or renewal.

(c) The governing body of any city and the board of county commissioners shall provide the sheriff, chief of police or director of all law enforcement agencies in the county written notice of the filing of registration by a scrap metal dealer within 10 days of registration or renewal.

(d) A registration for a scrap metal dealer shall be verified and upon a form approved by the attorney general and contain:

(1) The name and residence of the applicant;

(2) the length of time that the applicant has resided within the state of Kansas and a list of all residences outside the state of Kansas during the previous 10 years;

(3) the particular place of business for which a registration is desired;

(4) the name of the owner of the premises upon which the place of business is located; and

(5) the applicant shall disclose any prior convictions within 10 years immediately preceding the date of making the registration for theft, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3701, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5801, and amendments thereto, theft of property lost, mislaid or delivered by mistake, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3703, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp 21-5802, and amendments thereto, theft of services, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3704, prior to its repeal, criminal deprivation of property, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3705, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5803, and amendments thereto, or any other crime involving possession of stolen property.

(e) Each registration for a scrap metal dealer to purchase regulated scrap metal shall be accompanied by a fee of not less than $100 nor more than $400, as prescribed by the board of county commissioners or the governing body of the city, as the case may be.

(f) The board of county commissioners or the governing body of a city shall accept a registration for a scrap metal dealer as otherwise provided for herein, from any scrap metal dealer engaged in business in such county or city and qualified to file such registration, to purchase regulated scrap metals. Such registration shall be issued for a period of 10 years.

(g) If an original registration is accepted, the governing body of the city or the board of county commissioners shall grant and issue renewals thereof upon application of the registration holder, if the registration holder is qualified to receive the same and the registration has not been revoked as provided by law. The registration fee for such renewal shall be not less than $25 nor more than $50.

(h) No registration issued under this act shall be transferable.

(i) Violation of subsection (a) is a class A nonperson misdemeanor.

(j) This section shall not apply to a business licensed under the provisions of K.S.A. 8-2404, and amendments thereto, unless such business buys or recycles regulated scrap metal that are not motor vehicle components.

History: L. 2011, ch. 86, § 1; L. 2012, ch. 38, § 2; Apr. 5.



Prev Article 6. - CONSUMER PROTECTIONNext
2019. Powered by KLISS. Rendered: 2019-08-20T09:54:32. Head Rev No: 345400